thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

An Intro to AP English 3

on September 25, 2013

AP Language and Composition, the class this blog is for, is offered to 11th graders at my school. The course covers rhetoric, reading, and the styles of writing through mostly American literature. My goals for this year include further developing my unique style of writing, learning to analyze rhetoric, and showcasing my work to a wider audience. I hope that by the end of this year, I can honestly say I’ve become a much better writer, and have the proof to back it up. I want to read extensively and deeply, expand my vocabulary, and “remix” author’s styles to create my own. It reminds me of a interesting quote that I pushed to the back of my brain a while ago.

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination…authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent.” -Jim Jarmusch

This quote means that everything has already been said, done, revised, and studied. What we need to do is take pieces that spark a personal connection with us, and “remix” them – add our own unique take – and make them original.

Wish me luck on this wild ride I like to call AP English 3. Fair warning: on this blog, you may encounter complaints about other subjects, personal opinions that you may not agree with, or lame things that I find way too funny. Thank you for reading anyway.

~AJ 

Leave a Reply

