thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

UC Personal Statement…a year early

on December 26, 2013

Even though we are juniors, my English class is working on the UC essay prompt #1 to prepare for college app season next year. I’m so happy my teacher decided to do this, because it will lessen the stress when the time comes next fall! This way, we can work on our essays at a leisurely pace and get valuable feedback from our teacher now.

Describe the world you come from — for example, your family, community or school — and tell us how your world has shaped your dreams and aspirations.

The only downside to this is that for my chosen topic, Girl Scouts, there is so much that is happening in the time between now and when apps are due. I can’t write about it yet because I haven’t experienced it, and I’m not sure if I should add it because my essay’s already at a suitable length.

I recommend all juniors to at least start looking at college apps now. Try to list your accomplishments, because if you do this all a week before the deadline, you’ll forget all the little things that might give your application the extra edge. You’ve worked so hard during high school, don’t waste it by submitting a sloppy app! Your application should be something you’re proud of, because you’ve really been working on it for at least four years.

It’ll all be worth it in the end.

5 responses to “UC Personal Statement…a year early

  1. D says:

    My best advice is pretty cliche, but cliche for a reason- it’s true. Just be honest in your college apps. There will be a lot of people telling you a lot of different thinks about molding an image of yourself for the admissions committees and pulling strings at certain universities… most of this stuff won’t help you in the long run. If you give a heartfelt, true statement, the right school will find you.

Leave a Reply

