thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

SPOILER ALERT: Nick lies, Daisy cries, Gatsby dies

on February 1, 2014

Mr. Z does this really fun and innovative activity called Lit in 6, where we read a book and summarize it in 6 words. It was inspired by Ernest Hemingway’s “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” and by sixwordmemoirs.com. We did this for the first book we read in class, The Scarlet Letter. Immediately, I was hooked. I thought of phrases like “Three sinners, two lovers, one letter.” My favorite Lit in 6 for that book was, “Scarlet sin reflected in later kin.”

The idea is that simpler is better, less is more. We try to condense a book of hundreds of pages down into six words. Language is flexible like that.

On Thursday, we had our final discussion about The Great Gatsby. We discussed this article  and whether or not Nick Carraway is an honest narrator. At the end of class, Mr. Z announced that we could participate in the #litin6 hashtag on twitter for Gatsby: #gatsby6 (go check it out to see all my classmates’ amazing six-word stories!)

Here are some of my favorites for this book:

I posted a few myself. Some I rhymed (Nick lies, Daisy cries, Gatsby dies), some I quoted (“I hope she’ll be a fool”) and some I remixed (The green light foreshadowed Avada Kedavra). All in all, this is one of my favorite little assignments. It allows you to be so creative, and the six-word limit is perfect length to not go overboard with it. Each word must be used wisely, and that’s an important skill to learn.

A few teachers on twitter saw the Lit in 6s that my classmates and I posted, and were interested in doing a twitter challenge! I think that sounds really cool, and I’d love to see it happen!

2 responses to “SPOILER ALERT: Nick lies, Daisy cries, Gatsby dies

  1. […] SPOILER ALERT: Nick lies, Daisy cries, Gatsby dies Feb […]

  2. […] Mr. Z. And then my twitter exploded with the most attention it’s gotten since my Lit in 6 post. @Braddo wrote a blog post about my “Annotations on annotations on annotations” […]

Leave a Reply

