thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

Déjame leer, por favor

on March 16, 2014

Can I please have this plastered on my bedroom wall?

Everyone has a few friends that say, “I don’t like to read.” I don’t think that’s entirely true. I believe what they are trying to say is “I don’t like to read that.” That is what we often read in schools, is the classics so many love, is what everyone else is reading. Not liking to read what others read does not mean you do not like reading at all. All you need is to find an author, medium, or genre that interests you. There are so many non-mainstream types of things to read, for example: science journals, poem books, newspapers/websites, fan-fiction, biographies, self-help books, memoirs, short stories, and older books.

Reading is important. When we read, we learn, whether consciously or not. Our vocabulary expands and we learn new facts. Reading different genres allows us to make connections that can help us in school and daily life. We might find new ways to compare things in metaphors or finally understand a science concept better. It also helps us stay more in touch with the world.

Lately I’ve been falling behind in reading – our English book (The Grapes of Wrath), my chemistry textbook, my fun-reading books, my US history textbook, and my religious study books. In effect, I feel like I am behind on everything. I’ve missed assignments and failed quizzes. But now, I’ve finally found the root cause – all I need to do is sit down, and read.

2 responses to “Déjame leer, por favor

  1. MaggieA says:

    I definitely agree! I usually hate reading, but when I read the genre I like, I can’t stop!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Wait same. I keep trying to talk Derek into that reading is fun, haha.

Leave a Reply

