thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

I used to write confusedly, then I took an arrow to the knee.

on March 22, 2014

you go girlll

sorry i tried to be funny in the title

A few weeks ago, my Girl Scout troop went to a local park for an archery lesson. I hadn’t shot an arrow in about 6 years. I was excited to be reintroduced to the sport, even if it would be difficult.

Although Katniss, Hawkeye, and Merida make it seem so effortless, archery is a strength sport that takes focus, technique, and concentration. When I was out on the field, my instructor told me to perfect my technique before my aim. This way, it would be easier to find out which way to shoot. First, I worked on getting my stance directly perpendicular to the target. Then, I practiced holding the bow correctly and pulling the string all the way to my cheek. After shooting a few arrows, I found that my aim was too high. When my technique was satisfactory, all I had to do was to lower the bow to shoot lower. In no time, I made the bullseye 🙂

Writing a rhetorical precis is a lot like archery because it has a specific form. On the first precis we turned in, Mr. Z gave us all feedback. I did well, but the only thing I was missing was explaining how the writer developed an audience with the reader.

 precis format

Now, every time I write a precis, I go back to an old one and tweak it to fit the current article. It’s just like keeping my technique while I shift my aim, in archery!

2 responses to “I used to write confusedly, then I took an arrow to the knee.

  1. kaelynn le says:

    I really enjoyed this post! I love how you were able to incorporate something you loved to do or experienced to things that we were practicing to do in class. I loved how you connected the difficulties of archery to forming a precis and the connection was very well done and accurate.

Leave a Reply

