thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

I have written you down, now you will live forever

on April 24, 2014

Blogging in this class has long been about how everything is a remix and nothing is original. One of my favorite bands, Bastille, uses this method to create music that is fresh, fun, but can also be serious. You might have heard of their song ‘Pompeii’, which soared to the top of the charts last year and is extremely overplayed on the radio nowadays. In honor of the approaching end of April, which is National Poetry Month, I’d like to share with you one of their songs, called ‘Poet’. It’s not my favorite song of theirs, but I thought it was relevant 😉

It was based on Shakespeare’s Sonnet 81 and the verse that goes, “And all the world will read you/ And you will live forever/ In eyes not yet created/ On tongues that are not born” really illustrates the power and beauty of the written word.

photo (3)

One response to “I have written you down, now you will live forever

  1. MaggieA says:

    Wow, that song is really good! I’m loving it. Great lyrics, it speaks to my heart lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

