thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

I Don’t Know…yet

on July 14, 2014

As an upcoming senior, the single question I have received most this summer has been, “So, what do you want to major in/do in the future?”

And the truth is, I don’t know.

“What’s your favorite subject?” I like biology a lot. and chemistry. and English. and Spanish. and then there’s my extracurricular interests, which I love. My junior year has made me realize that I can like any subject when I have a great teacher. I am thankful that so far in my high school experience, I have had awesome teachers that make learning anything fun. The downside of that (that I’ll gladly accept) is that I don’t know what my passions are. All I know is that I like learning.

I can’t believe the time has come to pick a major and start worry about college applications! I still feel like the thirteen year old I was when I entered high school. A word to the freshmen: don’t think you’ll have it all figured out by now. You’ll probably be more confused than ever.

I think older people should stop telling kids that “when you find your passion, you’ll feel it” or “when you step on to the campus of the college that’s for you, you’ll know”, because that’s not always true. Senior year is hard enough with all the decisions we have to make, it doesn’t help to overlook the struggles you went through (however long ago). I know plenty of others facing indecision and confusion as to what major to pick, because school/life hasn’t given them enough exposure to the plethora of career paths out there.

But that’s okay, summer is still young and there’s plenty of time for more research. Check back on the Class of 2015 in two months (we will most likely be crying). We’ll figure it out…somehow.

I should go start summer homework now.

One response to “I Don’t Know…yet

  1. I know you’ll be fine inshaAllah! Don’t worry 🙂

Leave a Reply

